Student Festivals

Rough Cut

Friday, April 30, 2021 | 5pm

List of 1 items.

  • Rough Cut - the Lycée's Short Film Festival

Created in 2010, Rough Cut takes place each year and welcomes the participation of schools throughout New York City and beyond.

Wishing Well


My Blood

The Rough Cut 2021 winners by category are:

  • Animation (Students) - Wishing Well by Arthur Schneiders 
  • Experimental (Students) - Panopticon by Omar Tawfik, Julius Gross and Elias Taouli
  • Animation (Teachers) - My Blood by Noam Soulat

Students are free to create films on any school appropriate subject; the only requirement is that the films are less than ten minutes long.

A jury of faculty, students and film professionals give out four awards: Best Animated Short, Best Documentary Short, Best Narrative Short, and Best Experimental Short. The audience also votes for its favorite movie!

The deadline to submit a movie is Monday, April 19, 2021.

Email Eric Samulski to submit your movie:

List of 3 items.

  • 2020 Winners

    • Best Narrative Film: "Camden U" by Will Ruggai, Xavier HS (warning: mature content)
    • Best Documentary Film: "En Route" by Ahjani Jackson, LREI
    • Best Experimental Film: "Carpe Diem" by Zoe Silverman, Lycée
    • Jury Prize: Julien Zeitoun, Lycée ("Kettle" "Tissues" "Basketball Cornucopia" "An Afternoon in My Ears"
  • 2019 Winners

    • Best Narrative Film and the Audience Award: "Soaring" by Pier Paolo Piccoli (Lycée Français)
    • Best Experimental Film: "Song of a Lonely Bird" by Jiaqi Liu (Staten Island Academy)
    • Best Documentary Film and the Jury Prize: "The Revolution is at Hunter College" by Mathilde Malpartida Durroux, Gabriel Husain and Jaques Chrysostomou (Lycée Français)
  • Winners of the previous editions

    2017: Evariste Gindrey, Lycée Français de New York, "Loop"
    2016: Milo Sobral, FASNY, for “Sleepless
    2015: Sarah Maouchi, Zoé Lacau & Noémie Wendelbo
    2014: Theo Le Sourd & Pierre Hirschler for “Apartment 42H
    2013: Theo Le Sourd & Pierre Hirschler for “Food Doodle
    2012: Xavier Ferland-Brissette
    2011: Terry Noiran